Showing posts with label Payroll. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Payroll. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Federal 941 Payroll Tax Payment Guidelines

Many entrepreneurs do not realize how important it is to obtain payment of payroll taxes to be made in time. If a late payment will be made as soon as the IRS brings to it, the penalties are stiff: 10% discount on top, plus interest. Trying to earn that in a bank today! Resist the temptation to pay too late, because it saves money, "it is a money-loser. Plus, the penalties are not deductible.

Quick Tip: The IRS uses the term "tax deposit account" within the meaning of "paying taxes", and uses the term "monthly depositor" or"semi-weekly depositor" to "paying monthly" or "semi-weekly payers", respectively.

Determine the schedule for payments

Before you can decide when the tax is due, you must first check whether you are a monthly depositor or a semi-weekly depositor. What type are you have nothing to do with when and how often you pay employees to do. To determine the schedule, to you, please review the records in the billing period of "observation" for. That period always endsJuly 1 to June 30 for 2006, the period of "observation" from 1 July 2004 to June 30, 2005. If the amount deducted for taxes 941 50,000 dollars or less, you are a monthly depositor. If the amount in that period more than 50,000 U.S. dollars, it is a semi-weekly depositor.

Monthly Depositor

If you are a monthly depositor, you will pay the taxes by 15 the following month. For example, with 941 kept in the August 2006 payment is due on Friday, September 15th. When15. falls on a weekend or a holiday in Germany, the payment must be made the next business day.

Semi-Weekly Depositor


If the payday falls on a Wednesday, Thursday and / or Friday, the deposit will be payable by next Wednesday.

If the payday falls on a Saturday, Sunday, Monday and / or Tuesday, the deposit will be due by next Friday.

Entries $ 100,000

Regardless of the nature of the depositors who are deemed 941 if $ 100,000 or more to reachPayment must be made the next working day, and the semi-week deposit rules in effect, to transmit.

Payment methods

Payments can one of three ways:


The IRS will send you a yellow booklet with coupons. Fill out one, and take a check to your bank. Be sure to fill in the butt than the coupon for your records.

Using the electronic payment system of the Federal Tax Administration. Eftps.com For more information and to register. Leave about two weeks to registersuccessfully completed. Other types of fees can be paid even with this system.

Find a provider's payroll, electronic payment of taxes, job offers, and subscribe to this service.

Avoid Costly penalties


Do not pay too late

Pay with the right method

Pay the correct amount

These guidelines are for the federal contribution is only 941, and are designed for small businesses, with $ 100,000 in federal territory have identified 941 bills. See the instructions for Form 941, andCircular E for more details and information.

Monday, March 22, 2010

Payroll Utah, Unique Aspects of Utah Payroll Law and Practice

The Utah State agency that manages the collection and reporting of state taxes deducted from payroll checks:

State Tax Commission
Withholding development
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84134th
(801) 297-2200
(800) 662-4335 (in state)
http://tax.utah. gov /

Utah allows you to use the Federal W4 Form to calculate state income tax withholding.

Not all states allow salary reductions made under § 125 cafeteriaO plans 401 (k) in the same manner as the IRS code can be treated. Utah, cafeteria plans are not taxable for the purposes of calculating income tax, not taxable for unemployment insurance. Deferrals 401 (k) plan are not taxable income, taxable for unemployment.

Utah, wages are aggregated to a need for additional state income tax will be calculated.

It is necessary that the Utah State W-2s by magnetic media file, if your file federalW-2s by magnetic media.

Utah State Unemployment Insurance Agency:

Services Department of the workforce
140 E. 300 South
PO Box 45288th
Salt Lake City, UT 84145th
(801) 536-7400
http://jobs.utah. gov / employer / emservices.asp

Utah taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is wages up to $ 22,700.00.

Utah requires Magnetic media reporting of quarterly results, if the employer is at least 250 workers who arereported that quarter.

Unemployment in Utah, the records must be maintained for a period of three years. This information usually includes: name, social security numbers, dates of hire, repair, termination, wages at the time, payroll pay periods and pay dates, time and circumstances of termination.

The Utah State agency charged with enforcing the laws of the state of wages, and the class begins:

The Commission's work
Anti-Discrimination and Labor Division
PO Box 146,630
SaleLake City, UT 84114-6630
(801) 530-6801
[http://www.labor.state.ut.us/]

The minimum wage in Utah is $ 5.15 per hour.

There is no general provision in the Utah State law for the payment of overtime not FLSA covered employer.

Utah state employees are new disclosure requirements that any employer to set each new report, and has yet to adjust. The employer must report the information required by the federal government:


Employee Name
Employee Address
Social Security employeeNumber
Name employer
Employers Address
Employer Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)

This information must be provided within 20 days, the termination or reinstatement.
Information can be a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or media will be sent in May.
There is a fee of $ 25.00 for one report and $ 500 for conspiracy in Utah.

The Utah new hire reporting agency can be reached at 801-526-4361 or visit http://jobs.utah. Gov / newhire /

Utah does not allowmandatory direct deposit only for large employers with 2 / 3 of employees already on the transfer.

Utah, the following information on an employee's pay stub:

Detailed deductions

Utah requires that workers be paid no less often than semimonthly, monthly, if the employees annual salary for termination.

Utah requires that the delay between the end of the period of payment and the payment of wages to the employee not exceed ten days, the monthly salaries of 7 nextMonth.

Utah payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees their final pay must be paid within 24 hours and voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by next regular payday.

Wages deceased must be paid when normally due to holiday affidavit successor after no more than $ 25,000 for at least 30 days after death, no application for an executor is pending, and the right to payment.

Forfeiture laws in Utah require that unclaimedWages are paid to the state after one year.

The employer is obliged to keep records in Utah wages abandoned and turned to the state for a period of 5 years.

Utah payroll law mandates no more than $ 3.02 may be used as a tip credit.

Utah wage laws apply to mandatory rest or meal breaks are only that all employees have a meal after 30 minutes to 5 hours, 10 minutes of rest every 4 hours.

Utah law requires that wages andHours of registration for a period of not less than three years to keep. These records are usually required for at least the information required under FLSA.

Utah agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:

Office of Recovery Services
Department of Human Services
515 E. 100 S.
PO Box 45011th
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0011
(801) 536-8901
http://www.ors.state.ut.us/

Utah has the following provisions for the childDeductions


When to start Withholding? First pay period after 5 working days from the service.

When you send payment? Within 7 days after the payday.

If cancellation send? Within 5 days of termination.

Maximum rent? A one-time payment of $ 25

Withholding Limits? Federal regulation under CCPA.

Please note that this article is not for the changes that can and will be updated from time to time occur.

Saturday, March 20, 2010

Payroll Missouri, Unique Aspects of Missouri Payroll Law and Practice

The Missouri State Agency that manages the collection and reporting of state taxes deducted from payroll checks:

Department of Revenue

Department of Finance and Collection

Withholding Tax Section

PO Box 3375

Jefferson City, MO 65105-3375

(573) 751-5752

http://www.dor.mo. gov /

Missouri requires that forms Missouri MO-W4, Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate "instead of a Federal W-4 form for the use of MissouriState income tax at source.

Not all of the salary cuts were made under § 125 cafeteria plans or 401 (k) are the same as the IRS code can be treated. In Missouri, plans are not taxable cafeteria for the calculation of income tax, not taxable for unemployment insurance. Deferrals 401 (k) plan are not taxable income, taxable for unemployment.

In Missouri, an additional lump sum will be taxed wages by 6%.

You must file your MissouriState W-2s by magnetic media if you are at least 250 employees and required to file your federal W-2s by magnetic media.

Missouri State Unemployment Insurance Agency:

Division of labor safety

Unemployment Insurance Division

421 E. Dunklin St., PO Box 59

Jefferson City, MO 65104-0059

(573) 751-3215

http://www.dolir.mo. gov / ls / wagehour /

The state of Missouri taxable wage base for unemploymentWages up to $ 8000.00.

Missouri requires magnetic media reporting of quarterly results, if the employer at least 250 employees who produce the quarterly reports.

Unemployment in Missouri, the records must be maintained for a period of three years. This information usually includes: name, social security numbers, dates of hire, repair, termination, wages at the time, payroll pay periods and pay dates, time and circumstances of termination.

The State of MissouriAgency charged with enforcing the laws of the state of wages, and the class begins:

Ministry of Labor and Industrial Relations

Division of Labor Standards

PO Box 449

3315 West Truman Blvd.

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449

(573) 751-3403

http://www.dolir.mo. gov / ls / wagehour /

The minimum wage in Missouri is $ 5.15 per hour.

The general rule in Missouri to pay overtime in a non-FLSA covered employer is one and half times regular rateafter 40 hours per week.

Employees of the State of Missouri are new disclosure requirements that any employer to set each new report, and has yet to adjust. The employer must report the information required by the federal government:


Employee Name
Employee Address
The number of employees to social security
Name employer
Employers Address
Employer Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)

This information must be provided within 20 days, the termination or reinstatement.
Information can be sent as a W4 orcorrespond by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a fee of $ 25 for a report and $ 350 for conspiracy in Missouri.

Missouri is reporting agency recruitment can be found at 800-585-9234 or 800-859-7999 or on the Internet has reached http://www.dss.mo. Gov /

Missouri should be compulsory direct deposit but the employee the choice of financial institutions and the federal rules regarding the choice of financial institutions.

Missouri, the following information onEmployee's pay stub:


Gross and net
Straight time and pay
Hours worked
Detailed deductions

Total deductions

Missouri requires that workers be paid no less often than semimonthly; every 15 days for the industry each month FLSA exempt.

Missouri requires that the delay between the end of the payment period and the payment of the salaries of employees not more than sixteen days after the pay period, five days for producers.

Missouri law requires that wagesinvoluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay on the day of discharge or within 7 days, when employees required to post.

There is no provision of Missouri law on late payment of employees.

Forfeiture laws in Missouri require that unclaimed wages to the state after five years.

The employer is also obliged to maintain in Missouri, a report of wages abandoned and turned to the state for a period of 5 years.

Missouri PayrollLegal mandates are not more than 50% of the minimum wage as a tip credit used.

In Missouri the law does not require the settlement provision that covers the rest or meal periods.

There is no provision of Missouri law on data retention, wage and hours records, therefore, is probably appropriate to follow FLSA guidelines.

Missouri law requires that the keeping of wage and hours records for a period not less than three years. These records are generally at leastInformation covered by the FLSA.

Missouri agency is responsible for enforcing orders for children and laws:

Division of Child Support Enforcement

Department of Social Services

PO Box 2320

227 Metro Dr.

Jefferson City, MO 65102-2320

(573) 751-4301

http://www.dss.mo. gov /

Missouri to support the following provisions for child deductions:


When to start Withholding? 2 weeks after the shipment.

When you send aPayment? Within 7 days after the payday.

When you send the notice of dismissal? "Prompt"

Maximum rent? $ 6 per month.

Withholding Limits? Federal regulation under CCPA.

Please note that this article is not for the changes that can and will be updated from time to time occur.